August 31, 1957 – Plumbbob’s “Smoky” Leaves a Troubled Legacy

On August 31, 1957, Operation Plumbob’s “Smoky” test flamed into the sky over busy Yucca Flat, 65 miles north of Las Vegas.  Area 8 of the Nevada Test Site played host that day to the third test of the UCRL TX-41 –  a three-stage, thermonuclear weapon design.  After two previous tests of 3.5 and 5.0 megatons (Redwing Zuni and Tewa), “Smoky” was probably a partial, two-stage test with a decreased yield of 45-50 kilotons.  The MK-41 nuclear device eventually developed from the TX-41 test series became the largest-yield nuclear weapon ever developed or deployed by the United States.  Its yield of 25 megatons was also the highest yield-to-weight ratio for a US nuclear weapon, at about 6 kilotons per kilogram.

Smoky became famous – notorious, even – for its tragic consequences.   Over three thousand servicemen had been in the vicinity of ground zero shortly after the blast, practicing maneuvers as part of the Desert Rock exercise.  Their exposure to radiation from the test eventually became the subject of a Congressional investigation and epidemiological evaluation.  A 1980 study found statistically significant increases in leukemia cases among the 3224 participants.  Instead of the expected four cases, ten were found.

One comment

  1. Why did no one contact me. I was their and I was very young (18) and scared. All my buddies are dead and the VA will not help me with my skin cancer they just look at me like I am crazy. When I tell them about Smoky they
    always say this is quite a story. I was their and crawled, watched and was exposed to radiation to the max.
    No decontamination was offered and was reprimanded if we
    ask to wash before going back to camp. This is very hard on me and the horror of this still haunts me till
    this day. No one gives a damn. If you E-mail me please
    put my name in the subject box. This e-mail address is my friends not mine.

Leave a Reply

